Kinofilm 2017 Awards Winners, Runners Up and Special Mentions.

Following November’s 14th Kinofilm Festival we announced our winners and special mentions on our Facebook page. We are pleased to announce here the award winners and Special mentions to the rest of the world.

Thanks to all our jury members for the task of viewing and appraising all the films. We hope you agree they have made some great decisions from the 270 shorts films screened.

Best International Short Film  

The Son – Winner 
Kubrick by Candlelight – Runner-up
Saad’s Olive Tree – Honourable Mention

Best British Short Film – Sponsored by Studiobinder

Bedgellert – Winner 
Punchline – Runner-up
Prince of Denmark – Honourable Mention

Best North West Short Film – Sponsored by Fast Anchor Film Festival & High Peak Independent Film Festival

Granddad’s House – Winner 
Down & Out – runner-up
Hit & Run – Honourable mention

Best Director – sponsored by London Film Academy

Hannah Pike – Hit & Run – Wiinner
Ahmad Zayery – Saad’s Olive Tree – Runner-up
Hristo Simeonov – The Son – Honourable Mention

Best Actor – sponsored by International School of Screen Acting

Tommy Jessop – Down & Out – Winner 
Jordan Wendl – Rabbit Punch – Runnerup 
Neil McCaul – The Lion – Honourable Mention

Best Actress – sponsored by International School of Screen Acting

Blythe Duff – Hula – Winner 
Jane BIrkin – La Femme Et La TGV – Runner-up
Amy Fion Edwards – Zero Sum – Honourable Mention

Best Documentary Short Film 

It’s All About The Dots – Winner 
The Human Face – Runner-up
Born in Stone – Honourable Mention

Best Animation Short Film – Sponsored by Toon Boom

After All – Winner 
Catherine – Runner-up
Corky – Honourable Mention

Best Student Short Short Film                                                                                                                       

Natia – Winner 
Noam – Runner-up 
Cigarettes & Alcohol – Honourable Mention

Best Short Film Cinematography – Sponsored by Mediadog

La Femme Et Le TGV – Nausheen Dababhoy – Winner 
Icarus – Nico Aguilar – Runner-up
Dark Machine – Gijs Wilbers – Honourable Mention

Best Short Film Screenplay – Sponsored by Final Draft

Kubrick by Candlelight – David O’Reilly – Winner 
Hit & Run – Hannah Pike – Runner-up
The Son – Deyan Enev & Hristo Simeonov – Honourable Mention

Best Short Film Score – sponsored by The Composerworks

Born of Stone – Emilio Bellu and Jindrich Kravarik – Winner 
Icarus – Ryan Stratton – Runner-up
Zero Sum – Andrew Fisher – Honourable Mention

Best Eurocine Short Film – sponsored by Europia

Maja – Winner 
The Last Bus – Runner up 
Princess – Honourable Mention

Best Polish Student Short Film – sponsored by Europia

Maliny – Winner 
Toast – Runner up 
Emilia – Honourable Mention

Best O!PLA Animated Short Film – sponsored by Europia

Black Volga – Winner 
Shortseeing – Runner-up
The Whizard of US – Honourable Mention

Congratulations to all our winners this year and it’s been absolutely fantastic to showcase the films of everyone who was selected to be in the festival.

To see all the competition the winners were up against, take a browse of our full festival programme of screenings and events that took place in the 2017 Festival Catalogue.

If you would like to receive a copy of the A4 Festival Catalogue for 2017, please send us a payment of £5 (including Postage and Packing within UK) or a payment of £10 (International) via paypal (using the donate button on the right of our home page) and include your name and address.  Thanks

Filmmakers, please note you can now submit your films to the 15th edition of Kinofilm Festival via FilmFreeWay. Earlybird price until the end of January 2018 final deadline 30th June. Festival dates are 24th Nov – 2nd Dec 2018.

Share this:


Awards 2017